The Saratoga County GOP Secures Strong Election Night Victories

Republican Victories in the City of Saratoga Springs and Towns and Villages Across the County Demonstrate Strong Support for Family First Policies

A resounding victory by Republican challenger John Safford over a Democratic incumbent Ron Kim in the City of Saratoga Springs was the highlight of an election night that saw voters show strong support for Republican candidates and policies up and down the ballot in Saratoga County.

Last night Republicans in Saratoga County won the Mayor’s Office and Public Safety Commissioner in the City of Saratoga Springs, several judicial races, a County Coroner position and secured key victories in contested races across the county. This includes victories in the Town of Wilton and both the Town and Village of Ballston Spa, and all told Republicans unofficially won 17 Town/County Supervisor Races to remain firmly in control of a county that U.S, News and World Reports declared the healthiest in New York State.

Saratoga County GOP Chairman Joe Whalen said, “Yesterday voters went to the polls and voted for Republican candidates who have fought for, and support, low taxes, safe streets, healthy communities, expanded parks and open spaces, and growing economy. We are proud of the races our candidates ran and we want to thank voters for once again putting their faith in Republican leaders, we’ll never take this faith for granted. Our county is a shining example of what happens when leaders focus on policies that put families first and Republicans will continue to focus on enhancing a quality of life in Saratoga County that is second to none.”

Saratoga County Republicans who scored significant victories last night include, but are not limited to: Paul Davenport, Supreme Court Justice 4th Judicial District; Jonathan Schopf Surrogate Court Judge; Heather Brondi-Marx Family Court Judge; David DeCelle County Coroner; Ian Murray, Town of Saratoga Supervisor; John J. Lant, Town of Wilton Supervisor; and Mary L. Price-Bush and Bernadette D. Vandeinse-Perez as Village of Ballston Spa Trustees.